General Notes

Trolley Bay
The new trolley bay, in the bungalow, has been completed and is now available for use by those who wish to do so. Members should not leave their trollies in the middle of the floor.
Those Members who have not removed their trollies from the old shed are requested to do so immediately to allow for the conversion of same as cover for the ride on buggies.

Team News

Match:- JB Carr v Gowran Venue:- Kilkenny
Date/Time:- Friday, 26 April @15.00hrs.
Team:- Pat Collins & Paul Colfer, – Brian Cullen & Michael McCarthy, Paddy Smee & Larry Gittens – Tom Moore & Norman Williams, Joe O’Neill & Tony Butler.
Reserves:- Seamus Rochford & Liam Cody
Managers:- Willie Leahy & Pat Collins


Sat./Sun./Mon., 20/21/22, April. Easter Open, Three Person Team.
1. David Dooley (11), Brian Meredith (6), Jim Meredith (21), 88pts.
2. Fergal Cantwell (7), Leo Hennessey (12), Pierce Cullen (13), 87 (B9)
3. Pat O’Hanlon (14), Philip Tierney (14), Philip O’Neill (19), 87 (B9)
4. Ben McGarry (16), Aidan Phelan (9), Richie Phelan (20), 87
5. Liam Keswick (11), Alan O’Rourke (4), Cathal McDonald (11), 86 (B9)
6. James Young (5), Brendan Power (5), Colm McMenamin (13), 86

Best Ladies Team
Annette Stapleton (24), Josephine Leahy (13), Mary Condon (23), 78

Two’s Club
6th. Ciaran Aylmer, Paschal Connolly, Tommy Buckley, Billy FitzPatrick, Ian Morrissey, Larry Malone, (Gowran), Shane O’Neill, Gavin Phelan, David McNamara, Alan Phelan, John Shortall (Callan), Pat Walshe, 10th. James Bateman, Leo Hennessey, James Hogan, Shane O’Neill, 15th. Dick Curtin, Phyl Doyle, Kevin Gahan, 17th. Ciaran Aylmer, Brian Cullen, Brian Delaney, David Farragher, Leo Hennessey, Neil Loy, Norman Williams,
Each ‘Two’ receives €22.00 credit in the Pro Shop.

Wednesday, 17 April, Ladies & Gent’s Open Singles – CSS. Members – 71. Visitors – 71.
Gent’s Sector
1. Eamon Brennan (8), 43
2. Sean Murphy (25), 40 (B6)
3. John Doherty (6), 40
Gross:- Derek O’Gorman (3), 37
4. Kevin Browne (7), 38 (B9)
5. Philip Cross (19), 38
Category 1 (15-19), Kieran Kelly (17) 37pts, Category 2 (20 +), Charlie Phelan (22) 38 pts

Ladies Sector
1. Sarah Molloy (5), 34pts

Two’s Club
6th. Lar Ryan (Thurles), Alan Phelan, ,10th. Richard Manogue, , 15th. Kevin Browne, Jeff Kealy, Lar Ryan (Thurles),
17th. Kevin Brennan, Graham Nugent,
Each ‘Two’ receives €32.00 credit in the Pro Shop.

Friday, 19 April. Mixed Social Golf. 13 Hole Champagne Scramble
Friday’s opening Social Mixed Golf drew a large number of players last Friday. The format was a 13 Hole Champagne Scramble.
Details of the next event, scheduled for mid May, will be announced in due course.

Winners:- 1. Breege Martin, Ann Woodcock, Ger Crowdle, Maurice Ryan 73pts.
2. Pat Walshe, Myles McCabe, Adrienne Walsh, Ann Shortt

Senior Gents
Thursday, 18 April – 13 Hole Stableford – 65 Players took part.
1. Jim Ryan, Peter Ryan, Liam Merrins, Paul Brady, 65.
2. Michael McCarthy, Jimmy Rhatigan, Nicky Lawlor, (59+4), 63 (B3).
3. Michael Grant, Michael Hayes, Jerry O’Dwyer, Tom Reade, 63.
4. Willie Leahy, Pat Cody, Dermot Moloney, Seamus O’Sullivan, 61.
5. Geoff Meagher, Paul Hanafin, Tom Keating, Brendan Graham, 60 (B6).
6. Gabriel Maher, Noel O’Sullivan, Myles McCabe, Jack Nolan, 60.
7. Gerry Leahy, Reay Brandon, Eugene Orr, Liam Barry, 59
Next Competition Thursday, 25 April – Champagne Scramble – Play starts at 10:50. Check in is from 09:45 – Draw closes at 11:15.
Entries taken for our first away outing of the year at Faithlegg G.C.- Limited to first 60 entries.


Thursday, 09 April. Golfer of the Year Round 2
Monday, 13 April. Away outing to Faithlegg
Monday, 27 April. Open Week Senior Men’s Competition
Thursday, 30 April. No competition due to Open Week.

Ladies Club Notes

Maximum Score for Stroke Play competitions
· In all stroke play competitions, a maximum score will now apply for all golfers.
· Players MUST PICK UP their ball and record a maximum score of 10 strokes on any hole when they have reached this number of strokes.

· This applies in singles stroke play competitions only. .

Alternative Days:

1. Alternative day for Tuesday Competition will be the previous Saturday and Sunday.
2. Competition must be closed for Saturday and Sunday and results amalgamated with Tuesday’s results.
3. Under no circumstance may any player compete in the same competition twice.
4. It is the responsibility of a player to adjust her own handicap if they have a score that is likely to be above the CSS on the alternative day and they are due to play in competition before results come out officially. This would also apply to open singles on Wednesday.
Note: Assume -CSS =SS = 73 = 36 points
Non-Return of Scorecards and non -entering of scores on computer

Failure of members to return scorecards can affect the competition standard scratch and cause considerable extra work for doing
results. If you enter a competition you MUST RETURN YOUR SCORE CARD even if you do not finish your round. Please state
on your scorecard, the reason for leaving the course, before your card is completed.
When your scorecard cannot be input on computer, due to malfunction, please note on your card.

Team News

Match:- Mid Leinster Senior Cup – Venue:- Courtown GC , Date/Time:- Saturday/Sunday 18/19 May
Team:- Mary Dowling (Scr.), Jan Browne (2), Mary Leahy Browne (4), Sarah Molloy (5), Niamh Kelly (7),
Reserves:- Anne Smee (5), Bridie McGarry (9),
Managers:- Mary Dowling & Mary Norton

Details of the draw will not be available until the end of the month.


Ladies Club Matchplay Competitions

The entry sheets for the Club Fourball and Foursomes Competitions are posted on the notice board in the ladies locker room.
The draw will take place on Friday, 03 May. The draw sheet for the singles will be available later this week.

Tuesday, 16 April. 18 Hole Stableford – CSS. Saturday – 75. Tuesday – 74.
1. Margaret Cuddihy (9), 38pts
2. Mary O’Shea (12), 37pts
Gross:- Orla Dunphy (2), 35pts
3. Yvonne Egan (11), 36pts (B9)
4. Bridget Norwood (22), 36pts
5. Ann Greany (20), 34pts
6. Breege Martin (24), 33pts

Ladies Nine Hole Stableford
1. Evelyn Crotty (13), 18pts
2. Hilda Richardson (33), 14pts

Senior Ladies
Thursday, 18 April.
1. Mary Browne, Theresa Brandon, Mary O’Connell, 44
2. Bridget Norwood, Kathleen Price, Anne B Murphy, 36
3. Mary Prendergast, Mary Feighery, Nuala Crotty, Killeen Byrne, 35
4. Mary Ryan, Frances Graham, Ann O’Dwyer, 34
5. Edith Ogilvie, Joan O’Sullivan, Breda O’Loughlin, 33
32 Ladies played.

Junior/Juvenile Club

Junior Captains Drive In
The two junior captains, Patrick O’Shea and Aoife Crowdle will have their drive-in, tomorrow, Wednesday 24th, at 14.00hrs.
We wish both Patrick & Aoife every success in their year of office.

Team News

Match:- Fred Daly v Gowran
Venue:- Kilkenny three matches. Gowran two matches.
Date/Time:- Thursday, 25 April @ 14.36hrs.
Home:- Pat O’Shea, Jack Walsh, Louis Walsh.
Away:- Sean Keenan, Andrew Arnopp.

Managers:- James Walsh (H) & Mick Keenan (A)

Social Activities

The final of the Patrick Wall Memorial Trophy will see Paul Hanafin take on Martin Hanrick.